Where the blog is and where it’s going

The last few weeks have been odd to say the least for me, aside from the odd bit of short form content (the CV’s and the Haikus) I’ve been writing my own CVs and Cover Letters, applying for jobs that could open some real doors for me down the line. Of course I didn’t get them, because hey where would be the fun in that.

As with any rejection it’s been pretty demoralizing (especially one internship for a well known media company in Bristol) and has left me with little energy to write any of the long form essays that I used to write when the blog first started. The Cvs and Haikus were really just a way for me to stay creative over the weeks and putting out a few of those a week has become my routine.

Apart from that I’ve been looking into making video content, doing short let’s plays of Nuclear Throne on my YouTube channel. Bound by technical restrictions such as piss poor internet speeds, it’s not something I think could take off in any way until I move house, which of course requires me to get that ever elusive job. And while I will try and keep up with it, it’s not something I see a future in just yet.

I’ve thought I maybe stretching myself too thin, trying to be a jack of all trades but a master of none, but that’s one of the perks of youth I guess, being able to have the time to see what fits for me. I’ve known for the longest time I wanted to be creative, I’ve always loved to entertain people, making others happy through my actions is something I’ve always adore doing. I’ve also known that having a humdrum office life would be a death sentence to me (watch either the Office or Office Space to see what terrifies me)

So that’s what I’m trying to do, entertain others while dodging the proverbial bullet that comes with a pastel shirt and noose disguised as a tie.milton-office-space-stapler-i19

So what next? Well for the time being I’ll be trying to write new Gaming Cvs and Haikus once a week. Reviews of any new games I get over the next few months will also be coming (thinking Civilization: Beyond Earth and Binding of Isaac Rebirth) I’ll also be looking to get writing about a few games stories that i’ve been playing but just haven’t written about yet (Shadow of Mordor)

As well as writing about Games i’m going to be writing a bit about movies. Most nights I tend to stay up late, watching a bad movie and I’ll end up tweeting about it, for instance last night I watched Kevin Smith’s ‘Clerks’ I rather enjoyed it but had some issues with the actors. I’ve been thinking writing a bit about movies, I’m a bit of a geek (If you couldn’t tell) and love talking about the latest goings on in either the Marvel or DC universes (particularly if I can bitch about Aquaman) So I’ll probably be writing a review every so often of a movie that catches my attention.

Any thoughts or recommendations then please leave a comment or tweet me at Cynic8edwards

Tags:

About PropeRob

All round song and dance man with penchant for quoting Jeeves and Wooster and Toberlone's. Known to drone on about Video Games and geeky bollocks to anyone who can't escape in time.

Leave a Reply

