Confession Time: Bloodborne

This is a quick trial for a series I’ve had cooking up in the nogging for some time now, Geek Confessions. Typically alluding to some failure of mine to be on board with the geek cultural zeitgeist in some way. So here’s the first.

Bloodborne, Bloodborne, Bloodborne! BloodBorne you say? Yes, Bloodborne, BloodBorne! BLOODBORNE! DO YOU GET IT YET? BLOOD SOAKED, RAGE INDUCING, SOUL SAPPING, MISTRESS OF SWEET SUFFERING AND AGONIZING VICTORY BLOODBORNE! NAIL MY BALLS TO THE FLOOR AND SMACK THEM AROUND WITH RUSTY KNIVES MADE FROM MY GRAND FATHERS LAST BREATH ON THIS GOD FORSAKEN EARTH, BECAUSE HOLY FUCKING SHIT IT’S BLOODBORNE.

I needed to get that out of my system.

On the 24th of March 2015, the world went fucking bonkers for Bloodborne. Reviews shot up, praise was heaped upon From Softwares latest effort with such fervor that several game reviewers have had to be hospitalized from using their atrophied unqualified praise gland too strenuously. 10s and 9s flew in every direction, stars were present in such abundance that From Software now has enough to rival several celestial bodies.

In short it’s been very well received. Believe me I understand why. The Souls series has over recent years taken it’s place in the pantheon of gaming to put it along side such haloed titles as Ocarina of Time and which ever Mario game is really popular. Bloodborne is perhaps the perfection of their formula or at least such an alteration of it to make it both refreshingly new and deliciously familiar (Like Fanta Fruit Twist).

As the release date came ever close, hype began building, and not in that BS ‘Believe the hype’ sort of way that publishers spew in our faces, but in a real fanbase movement, desperate to get hold of a copy and be masochistically tortured by that wickedly hard game-play they’ve grown to crave. The fan anticipation for this game was remarkable given how it’s a console exclusive to PS4.

As a PS4 owner I should be hyped, at last we have an exclusive to be proud of, we can put Second Son on the shelf and throw Knack back into the fires from whence it came. But i’m just not (there, 350 words into my confession and I finally confess, I’d make a piss poor catholic).

After reading this months addition of Edge Magazine and their brilliantly well written piece on Bloodborne I was sold, I pre-ordered the game off Amazon, to await it’s release on Friday here in the UK. But then the video reviews came up and I watched the gameplay and it dawned on me, it was a Souls game. I’d never liked the Souls games.

Let me rephrase that, I know the games in the Souls series are excellent, well made games. I get that I really do. But they’ve never appealed to me. Their fetishistic view of difficulty, the time commitment they expect of you and the knowingly obtuse nature of their design puts me off. I could write a whole essay about my experience with Dark Souls 2 about why It hasn’t grabbed me as I had hopped (Yeah, I’ll write that soon) So as I watched Bloodborne I saw the same things I disliked being repeated.

Now I don’t want the series to change at all. I shouldn’t try to accommodate me in any way, It’s got a  wonderfully rabid fanbase who love these games like no other and it’s brilliant that they have it. Let these games be off putting to beginners, let them be obtuse and force me to have a wiki up at all times. That’s why people love them.

Tags: , ,

About PropeRob

All round song and dance man with penchant for quoting Jeeves and Wooster and Toberlone's. Known to drone on about Video Games and geeky bollocks to anyone who can't escape in time.

Leave a Reply

