Gaming Confessions: What Haven’t I done?

As much as I try to have as broad array of knowledge of video games at my fingertips as possible, I am but only one man. As such I only have a limited amount of time to play and reserch games, this has lead me to having a few gaps in my gaming knowledge that to some (Mostly people older than myself) would consider unforgivable.

So we come to confession time, where I, like the catholics of old lay myself before your mercy and hope you don’t stamp too hard on my nads (Catholics and Fetishest have an awful lot in common)

Number 1: I’ve never owned a Mario Game

Aside from two gameboy advance games in the 90s I have never owned a Mario Game. My time with that little italian plumber is limited only to parties where a Wii or Wii U was present, I’ve always enjoyed playing these games such as Smash and Mario Kart but never enough to persuade me to buy one of the Nintendo Consoles (Other than the handhelds) My time with most Nintendo products is usually with a Pokemon game, this leads me very nicely to number 2

Number 2: Never Played or Owned a Zelda game

To some hardcore gamers this admission could be enough to get me thrown out of the medium altogether, but alas it is true that at no point in my 22 years on this earth I have never played a game with Link/Zelda as a protagonist. As I said before I’ve never owned a Nintendo Console and the handhelds I did own were pretty much just Pokemon machines. I do own a 2DS so have been considering buying Link Between Worlds or one of the remasters of the classic games but so far I have yet to pull the trigger on doing so.

I think It would just be easier if I list the famous games series that I have never played, prepare yourself

  1. Megaman
  2. Castlevania
  3. Metroid
  4. God of War
  5. Street Fighter
  6. Dungeon Keeper
  7. Theme Hospital
  8. The Good Thief games (2014 one doesn’t count)
  9. Morrowind
  10. Fallout 1&2 and Wasteland
  11. Baldurs Gate
  12. Uncharted
  13. Halo
  14. Donkey Kong (Does he have separate games anymore?)
  15. Fuck it, almost all Nintendo games other than Pokemon
  16. Final Fantasy
  17. Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic
  18. Pyschonauts
  19. Day of the Tentacle
  20. Grim Fandango
  21. Basically everything Tim Schafer has ever done.

Apart from that I’ve played every game ever…

At times it can be easy to forget we aren’t all drawing from the same well of knowledge when it comes to gaming. As you can probably tell, many of the games on that list are from Japan, and here in the UK I just wasn’t exposed to that much Japanese culture until the rise of Pokemon, and even then it was with poorly dubbed Anime which never made much sense to me* (I’m still not sure what the hell happened in the Yu-Gi-Oh show)

*Seriously, have you ever read the lyrics to Anime theme song? It’s like being shot in the face by a dictionary with a grudge (Apart from the Pokemon Theme song which rocked) 

About PropeRob

All round song and dance man with penchant for quoting Jeeves and Wooster and Toberlone's. Known to drone on about Video Games and geeky bollocks to anyone who can't escape in time.

2 responses to “Gaming Confessions: What Haven’t I done?”

  1. poormansgeek says :

    from what i could find, the PS2 (the first console i owned) had 1,850 games released for it in it’s life span, each released for about $50 new here here in the states. so in order to buy every game for that one system, it would cost about $92,500. At the same time there were games being released for the Gamecube and Xbox. Plus all the games made before it, and all the games that came after.
    when you think about the shear scope of it all, when you think about just how many games there are, can any one really be surprised so many of them fall of our radars? i mean, i’m right there with you. there are a ton of games on that list i’ve never played or only played for an hour or so.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Things I’ve done this Week: Week 5 | Played out - May 24, 2015

Leave a Reply

