2016 Video Game BAFTA Round up Part 1

My oh my has it already been a year since my last BAFTA round up? How time flys. Well since I so enjoyed doing this last year how about I treat you all to my thoughts on this years winners and losers for the Video Game BAFTAs?

Artistic Achievement Award

Assassin’s Creed Syndicate

Batman Arkham Knight

Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture

Ori and The Blind Forest

Witcher 3

Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain.

Got to say the nominees for this category are slightly lackluster in my honest opinion. The winner among them was Ori and the Blind Forest and quite deservedly so when compared to the other games which all strive to look good but are in no way breathtaking or artistically unique in any way. Little shocked that Bloodborne didn’t get at least a nomination for this category as it is visually striking.

Audio Achievement Award

Assassin’s Creed Syndicate

Batman Arkham Knight

Everybody’s gone to the Rapture

Star Wars Battlefront

The Witcher 3

Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain.

Not really an audio guy (He says while also being the host of a podcast) so find this one difficult to judge for myself. The Winner was Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture. Sorry Battlefront, getting us nostalgic with laser noises ain’t enough. EGTTR as I’m now calling it also won best music

Debut Game

Keep Talking And Nobody Explodes

Her Story

Lovers in Dangerous Space Time

Mini Metro

Prune

Ori and the Blind Forest.

At last, some love for the Indie amongst us. I’ve heard a lot of praise heaped on most of these games (Even heaped some myself for Mini Metro) The eventual winner was Her Story, a game I really should write about sometime.*

So that’s Part one of this years BAFTA winners. At the moment I’m just skirting around the big categories as I think I’ll need to write an entire essay about why the winner of Best Game is a little off the mark.

*Her Story also won best Handheld, which i can’t be arsed to write about

About PropeRob

All round song and dance man with penchant for quoting Jeeves and Wooster and Toberlone's. Known to drone on about Video Games and geeky bollocks to anyone who can't escape in time.

Leave a Reply

